Skip to main content

Next live chat: working with non-native speakers of English


We had a great live chat yesterday on PeerCentered. Our subject was "Why tutor?" and the conversation ranged from why folks chose to tutor, why they keep tutoring, and what they gain from their work.  No one dared to try A/V, but the texting was still productive and interesting.

For our second live chat of the season we will be talking on the issue of working with non-native speakers of English at institutions where instruction takes place primarily in English.  We will meet a 12:00pm Mountain Daylight Time (2p EDT, 1p CDT, 11a PDT, 7p GMT), once again, in the SLCC Student Writing Center's online space at https://www.slccswc.org/students/tinychat.php .

You don't have to be a peer writing tutor to participate in the discussion, but that's who PeerCentered is primarily for.

See you on October 4!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Enough with the Prosti----- already

While I admit I was once intrigued by the prostitute-consultant analogy, not by what Scott Russell had to say about it but by some of the ideas we threw around in class the other day, I can honestly say, now, that I am beginning to move away from the metaphor. While I once connected prostitution and the writing center through their brief meetings and levels of intimacy, I now question the nature of those meetings and the levels of intimacy available, and like David said in class, I agree that the comparison is a stretch. Here’s where I struggle with a connection between meeting a stranger, a prostitute, for sex, and meeting a consultant at the writing center. Although the ‘client,’ ‘student,’ or whatever, meets with a stranger for a limited period time to meet a specific desire, the level of intimacy between sex with a prostitute and a writing consultation differs. It is my experience that consultations between peers can be genuinely intimate as one discusses personal thoughts—there i…

IWCA Forum: Peer Tutor => What do we call ourselves: the poll!

I have posted a poll in the IWCA forums: IWCA Forum: Peer Tutor => What do we call ourselves: the poll! It is a part of an earlier discussion that kind of petered out about the titles used for writing center workers. Please take a moment and vote! If you don't have an account on the forum, you can register for one by clicking on the "Register" link (next to the rocket icon in the top-right of the page.) Don't forget to state your institutional affiliation when you request and account. (That's how the IWCA Forum keeps out spam accounts.)