Skip to main content

Live Discussion!

Wednesday, March 2, 2016 from 1:30 pm to 2:30 pm Eastern Standard Time (12:30 pm Central; 11:30 am Mountain; 10:30 am Pacific; 18:30 UTC/GMT) the editors of the Dangling Modifier will lead a live online discussion of writing center procedure, what makes a writing center successful vs. unsuccessful, what to do about a reluctant tutee, why tutoring is different than simply editing, the concept of tutoring as an act of collaboration, and lastly about The Dangling Modifier, the international peer tutoring newsletter by tutors for tutors from Penn State.  The discussion kicks off the PeerCentered live peer writing tutor discussion series for 2016.

To attend the session, please go to https://hangouts.google.com/call/6vmqbx5j5nd2liy35xinx2v2nia

Please announce this opportunity to any peer writing tutors you have contact with.


Questions may be directed to me, Clint Gardner at Clint.Gardner@slcc.edu.

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Enough with the Prosti----- already

While I admit I was once intrigued by the prostitute-consultant analogy, not by what Scott Russell had to say about it but by some of the ideas we threw around in class the other day, I can honestly say, now, that I am beginning to move away from the metaphor. While I once connected prostitution and the writing center through their brief meetings and levels of intimacy, I now question the nature of those meetings and the levels of intimacy available, and like David said in class, I agree that the comparison is a stretch. Here’s where I struggle with a connection between meeting a stranger, a prostitute, for sex, and meeting a consultant at the writing center. Although the ‘client,’ ‘student,’ or whatever, meets with a stranger for a limited period time to meet a specific desire, the level of intimacy between sex with a prostitute and a writing consultation differs. It is my experience that consultations between peers can be genuinely intimate as one discusses personal thoughts—there i…

IWCA Forum: Peer Tutor => What do we call ourselves: the poll!

I have posted a poll in the IWCA forums: IWCA Forum: Peer Tutor => What do we call ourselves: the poll! It is a part of an earlier discussion that kind of petered out about the titles used for writing center workers. Please take a moment and vote! If you don't have an account on the forum, you can register for one by clicking on the "Register" link (next to the rocket icon in the top-right of the page.) Don't forget to state your institutional affiliation when you request and account. (That's how the IWCA Forum keeps out spam accounts.)